So, there have been developments in the whole Dena/BOY drama. Turns out that the complete placenta previa has not moved at all. The reason why the previa has not moved at all is because of the still-growing fibroid, which is positioned such that the previa cannot move out of the way as the uterus rises. This makes me an unwilling candidate for a c-section. So it's pretty much the perfect storm in there: I could deliver vaginally if the previa wasn't there because the fibroid would just get shoved aside. I could deliver vaginally if the fibroid wasn't there because then the damned previa would be able to move out of the way like it's supposed to. But with both of them there and in the exact positions they're in, I have no choice but to have a c-section. It's such a perfect storm that it's almost eerily predetermined. But I'm trying not to read too much into it.
The other problem with having a complete previa is that the BOY and I are at greater risk for hemorrhage if I lift something too heavy or if I lift something wrong or if I fall on my ever-expanding ass or if I breathe wrong. This is because the placenta is covering the oss (cervical opening) and is more prone to rupture as pressure increases in the uterus...this would not be the case if it was positioned just about anywhere else in the uterus. So now the doctors are getting a little nervous and they're talking about sending me to Anchorage two months early (immediately after xmas) if the previa hasn't moved by my next appointment on December 23. Which is going to be hugely inconvenient for me, as we're already short-handed at work and my boss will shit twice and die if I have to leave any earlier than February 15. Not to mention, I won't have any income from December 28 to May 1...unless I can work out some kind of deal with the Dept. of Law to let me work in Anchorage. Not to mention, I have a bar exam scheduled for the end of February and I'm going to need time and silence to study for it. Not to mention, I can't study for the bar exam in Anchorage because the distractions are too much for me to resist. And what the hell am I supposed to do with the anal-retentive, very high-maintenance FEE? I certainly can't leave her alone for four months...that would be inhumane.
I believe that most everything happens for a reason...ultimately to maintain the balance in the universe (and pardon me while I wax philosophical for a moment...). Don't get me wrong, I love Anchorage and getting out of Bethel is always a good thing for me because I simply HATE it here. But what about my job? What about the bar exam? What about money? What about my apartment? What about my cat? It seems like the perfect storm going on within me is causing a perfect storm without me...and about that, I have no idea what to think.
I've decided the best thing I can do is watch my ass and try to stick it out in Bethel as long as I can (ironic because as I said, I fricking hate it here). I'm going to start studying for the bar exam early. I'm going to file a "reasonable accommodation" request with the bar exam people asking them to not charge me for the July bar exam if complications prevent me taking the February bar exam. On December 23, I will see if the previa, by some miracle, has moved at all. If so, then I have nothing to worry about. If not (and that's what the doctors are expecting), I'm going to tell the doctors to make arrangements for me to be in Anchorage on February 1, which is only two weeks prior to when I was going to take leave for intensive bar exam study, anyway. This will keep my boss's feathers from getting too ruffled. I can rent a furnished something for a month to continue study, take the bar exam, then turn myself into the hospital and let them have their way with me. As for the FEE, it looks like she'll have to travel with me to Anchorage. She won't like it. But she would thank me if she knew the alternative.
So that's the plan. Obviously, it all goes to shit if I start hemorrhaging. And it's risky...maybe a little too risky. I will have to be careful. The good news is that I do not have gestational diabetes.
As for the BOY himself, he's doing great. He currently has the hiccups and that's pretty much the weirdest feeling in the world. He rolls around and kicks and punches his mama...sometimes it almost hurts. He stopped waking me up at 5:30am and we now seem to be more on the same sleeping schedule (for the moment, anyway). He likes it when I eat fruit...there's a huge kung-fu fighter reaction to the fructose after it hits my bloodstream. And he always lets me know when it's time for me to eat, after which he takes a little siesta (provided only that I don't consume fructose). He was about two pounds on November 23, which means he is the size of a 27-week old baby even though he is chronologically only 21 weeks. Which is good...if he's going to born prematurely, I want him to be as well-developed as possible.
The trip to Seattle was nice...it was good to hang out with my mom's side of the family. The BOY and I went out on my aunt and uncle's boat for the weekend. I discovered that pregnancy does not make me more prone to seasickness. And the BOY seemed to like the rocking of the boat...his activity level went down a little while we were on the water. Everybody seemed to be a little tripped out on me being pregnant...it was kind of funny.
That's about it for now...I had more ultrasound pics to post from the November 25 appointment. But I was stupid and left them in a book that I left at Val's house in Anchorage. It's lame too, because the BOY got so mad during the last ultrasound, he turned his back on the camera AND flipped us off. That was pretty funny.
So no pics for now...they'll take more at the December 23 appointment and that will have to do. Have a good Sunday!