Happy new year! In the past few weeks, I've discovered that I have mad skillz when it comes to sleeping. I can sleep all night, get up for a few hours, go back to bed, sleep all day, get up for a few hours, and go to bed at night and sleep like a log until it's time to go to work. It's truly amazing...I've never been this good at anything. ( :<
Needless to say, I pretty much slept through xmas and new year's. I got up long enough to do chores, but only to the extent the apartment doesn't self-destruct from the gas excreted by accumulated rotten food, dirty dishes, dirty Dena, and fouled litter. Phoebe thinks this new trend is just great...she loves to sleep too, preferably when and where I'm sleeping.
This whole sleeping trend also serves another purpose. I've been having a lot more round ligament pain as my gut and pelvic bones expand with the weight of the BOY. It's tougher now to work...getting up and down from my desk increases the soreness. Trying to do anything in a hurry increases the soreness. Staying vertical increases the soreness. The only time I'm not sore is when I'm horizontal. So I pretty much go there when I get home from work. And I pretty much stay there until I have to go back to work. I guess this is what you would call "self-imposed bedrest".
The BOY and I went to see the doctor again on December 31 (sorry, no ultrasound this time...the BOY wasn't complaining, although he also hates that doppler thing they use to listen to his heart). I told her that we would be heading for Anchorage on January 15, only nine days after she wanted us there.
It's funny how things just come together for the BOY and me...the aforementioned furnished/stocked condo in Anchorage is only available from January 15 to February 28, the exact time period I needed it. I took that as a sign...be in Anchorage by January 15. So I changed the dates on our plane ticket (and the nice Alaska Airline people didn't charge us a fee for the change OR for my having to bring the FEE along...if they had charged the latter, would that make it a FEE fee? Hee, hee!) and we have a doctor's appointment in Anchorage on January 16. I'm not going to try to work from January 15 to February 1...I'm going to take it easy. It isn't really worth working for two weeks...I would just be getting used to the office structure/operation by the time I quit working. The FEE will stay with me at the condo until the end of February...then I will board her somewhere until we return to Bethel on May 1. She won't like it but she can deal for a couple of months. And I will have all of February to study for the bar exam...I won't have any excuse to not pass this time (barring general stupidity and/or bad luck).
All in all, things have been coming together for us to the extent that I'm just not going to worry about anything...I'm going to (try to) assume that we will get what we need when we need it. And being in Anchorage alone will be therapeutic...family, friends, good food (lots of protein), clean water, medical resources. The first thing I'm going to do when I get to that condo is take a nice, long bath. ( :
Last week, I did research on c-sections and got all freaked out from the horror stories people told..."asthma rates in c-section babies are much higher", "mothers don't bond with c-section babies like they do vaginal-birth babies", "higher risk of complications during recovery", "higher risk that your bladder/kidneys/liver/lungs/intestines will get messed up from the surgery and you'll be hooked up to a machine for the rest of your life", etc., etc. Fortunately, I guess ANMC doctors, most of whom have been there since time immemorial, do thousands of c-sections every year. And I will probably get the most experienced one because apparently, that perfect storm within me is pretty rare and he's going to want to see it for himself out of curiosity. But none of this really matters in the end...having a vaginal birth is absolutely out of the question for me and the BOY. So I'm not going to do any more research on c-sections.
As for the BOY himself, he seems to be doing great. He moves around with great gusto and it's getting to the point where it looks like my gut has a life of its own (which I guess it does...literally). We have a little game...he rubs his leg/butt/back up against my abdomen and I pat it. Then he kicks my hand. Then I pat him some more. He kicks. I pat. That game can go on for as long as five minutes. It trips me out that there is only an inch or so between my hand and him...so close and yet so far (and pardon the cheesy cliche). ( :<
That's pretty much it for now. I really, seriously have to go clean up the kitchen. I've put it off for so long, I'm out of silverware. It's pretty bad. But at least I got to spend all day sleeping. ( :<